Adagio for Strings


Prized by film directors from Oliver Stone to David Lynch and performed as a tribute to JFK and FDR, one of classical music’s most popular works come home to the Symphony stage. Barber’s Adagio for Strings was premiered by legendary conductor Arthur Toscanini, who called the work “simple and beautiful.” This concert also features Rachmaninoff’s final composition for orchestra, the majestic Symphonic Dances, and captivating violinist Isabelle Faust performs Britten’s blistering Violin Concerto with “passion, grit, and electricity” (The New York Times).

Subscribe for savings and perks! This concert is in packages:
Wednesday C
Friday C
Saturday B


Stéphane Denève


Isabelle Faust


San Francisco Symphony



Adagio for Strings


Violin Concerto


Symphonic Dances

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Rachmaninoff's Symphonic Dances

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, Oct 15, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  3. Sat, Oct 18, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Ronald Gallman, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn more.