Garrick Ohlsson plays Rachmaninoff: An Open Rehearsal

Buy Tickets

“Titan among Titans of the piano” (San Francisco Classical Voice), Grammy award-winning Garrick Ohlsson conquers Rachmaninoff’s Third Piano Concerto. Arguably the most demanding of all Romantic concertos, and equally electrifying, “Rach 3” is an immense challenge that will showcase Ohlsson’s stunning virtuosity. The conductor The New York Times calls “dazzling,” Juraj Valčuha leads the music of Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Steven Stucky and Bartók’s exotic The Miraculous Mandarin.    

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion. View the full event.


Juraj Valčuha


San Francisco Symphony


Steven Stucky

Jeu de timbres


The Miraculous Mandarin


Piano Concerto No. 3

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Buy Tickets

  1. Fri, Oct 10, 2014 at 10:00am

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Laura Stanfield Prichard, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn more.

Pre-Rehearsal Breakfast and Talk

This special behind-the-scenes experience begins at 8:30am with coffee and complimentary donuts followed by a half-hour informative talk at 9am.