Gil Shaham & the San Francisco Symphony


Avery Fisher Prize-winner Gil Shaham is one of the foremost violinists of our time, whose combination of flawless technique with inimitable warmth and generosity of spirit has solidified his legacy as an American master. "Go-for-broke passion is a hallmark of his playing—as are his silvery tone, spot-on intonation, and meticulously molded phrasing," hails the Washington Post. Named Musical America's Instrumentalist of the Year in 2012, Shaham returns to San Francisco to perform one of his personal favorites, Mozart's delightful Turkish Violin Concerto. "Delight is perhaps the only word strong enough to describe the response that Gil Shaham's performance evoked," claims the Seattle Times of Shaham's performance of the piece. Also on the program, Ravel's sensuous Daphnis et Chloé and Liszt's demonic Mephisto Waltz No. 1.

Subscribe for savings and perks! This concert is in packages:
Thursday B
Friday D
Sunday B


Michael Tilson Thomas


Gil Shaham


San Francisco Symphony Chorus

San Francisco Symphony



Mephisto Waltz No. 1


Violin Concerto No. 5, Turkish


Daphnis et Chloé

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Nov 6, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Fri, Nov 7, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  3. Sun, Nov 9, 2014 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior to concerts. Learn more.

Program Support

November 6 sponsored by