Rachmaninoff performed by Grammy award-winning pianist Garrick Ohlsson 

Buy Tickets

“Titan among Titans of the piano” (San Francisco Classical Voice), Grammy award-winning Garrick Ohlsson conquers Rachmaninoff’s Third Piano Concerto. Arguably the most demanding of all Romantic concertos, and equally electrifying, “Rach 3” is an immense challenge that will showcase Ohlsson’s stunning virtuosity. The conductor The New York Times calls “dazzling,” Juraj Valčuha leads the music of Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Steven Stucky and Bartók’s exotic The Miraculous Mandarin.     

The Oct 12 concert benefits the Orchestra’s pension fund.


Juraj Valčuha


San Francisco Symphony


Steven Stucky

Jeu de timbres


The Miraculous Mandarin


Piano Concerto No. 3

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Watch a Video

The London Philharmonic Orchestra explores the music of Rachmaninoff.

Buy Tickets

  1. Fri, Oct 10, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  2. Sat, Oct 11, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

  3. Sun, Oct 12, 2014 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall 

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Laura Stanfield Prichard, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn more.

Program Support

October 11 sponsored by