MTT conducts Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra

SFS principal musicians Alexander Barantschik and Jonathan Vinocour are soloists in Mozart’s magnificent Sinfonia concertante, a virtuosic double concerto for violin and viola. MTT conducts a concerto showcasing the entire Orchestra: Bartók’s masterpiece, a sonic powerhouse and one of the composer’s greatest works.


Michael Tilson Thomas


Alexander Barantschik


Jonathan Vinocour



Samuel Adams

New work


Sinfonia concertante for Violin and Viola


Concerto for Orchestra

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, May 20, 2015 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Fri, May 22, 2015 at 6:30pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  3. Sat, May 23, 2015 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Laura Stanfield Prichard, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders. Learn more.