Tortelier conducts Dvořák 

Yan Pascal Tortelier leads the Symphony in an enthralling program of Romantic masterpieces. The popularity of Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, From the New World, notwithstanding, many consider his Seventh Symphony to be his finest: its dramatic and expressive depth and brilliance of orchestration show Dvořák at the height of his powers. Rising star Martin Helmchen makes his San Francisco Symphony debut with Schumann’s Piano Concerto—a work, critics say the young virtuoso “[lights] with an inner glow.” 

Please note: These concerts were originally scheduled to be conducted by Marek Janowski.


Yan Pascal Tortelier


Martin Helmchen


San Francisco Symphony



Symphony No. 7

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert: Approx. 1h 30m, includes intermission.


Dvořák's Symphony No. 7

Watch a Video

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra with conductor John Storgårds and Martin Helmchen piano rehearsing Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor.

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Oct 17, 2013 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  2. Sat, Oct 19, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  3. Sun, Oct 20, 2013 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Alexandra Amati-Camperi, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Program Support

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.