Mendelssohn and Adès: Heras-Casado conducts A Midsummer Night’s Dream: An Open Rehearsal

Buy Tickets

Pablo Heras-Casado’s project continues with a nod to Mendelssohn and Adès’s Shakespearean bent. Each composer’s oeuvre has betrayed him as a devoted Shakespearean: Mendelssohn’s bewitching incidental music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream ranks among the Romantic era’s quintessential works, while Adès’s gripping and utterly masterful operatic setting of The Tempest has quickly become an indispensable modern classic. The program concludes with the San Francisco Symphony and Chorus in a rarely heard gem: Mendelssohn’s dramatic setting of Goethe’s hallucinatory vision of the witches’ Sabbath, Die erste Walpurgisnacht (The First Walpurgis Night).

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion. View the full event.


Pablo Heras-Casado


Isabel Leonard


Audrey Luna


Charlotte Hellekant


Alek Shrader


Rod Gilfry


San Francisco Symphony



Suite from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Thomas Adès

Scenes from The Tempest


The First Walpurgis Night

Concert: Approx. 1h 40m, includes intermission.

Watch a Video


Heras-Casado on His Philosophy of Rehearsal

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 10:00am

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre-Rehearsal Breakfast and Talk

This special behind-the-scenes experience begins at 8:30am with coffee and complimentary donuts followed by a half-hour informative talk at 9am.