Blomstedt and Garrick Ohlsson: An Open Rehearsal

Buy Tickets

Herbert Blomstedt conducts the Fourth Symphony, acknowledged as Anton Bruckner’s first masterpiece—a vast symphonic landscape, epic in its scope, radiant in its sound.  The Romantic Symphony storms the heavens with praise.  Following his unforgettable Mozart performance last season, Garrick Ohlsson returns for Mozart’s beloved “Elvira Madigan” Piano Concerto No. 21.

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion. View the full event.


Herbert Blomstedt


San Francisco Symphony



Symphony No. 4, Romantic

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert Length is approximately 2 hours.

Watch a Video

Garrick Ohlsson discusses performing with Herbert Bloomstedt:

Garrick Ohlsson on performing Mozart in the 21st Century:

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, Apr 9, 2014 at 10:00am

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Scott Foglesong, begins one hour prior to rehearsal and concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Program Support

Sponsored by


Pre-Rehearsal Breakfast and Talk

This special behind-the-scenes experience begins at 8:30am with coffee and complimentary donuts followed by a half-hour informative talk at 9am.