Mendelssohn and Adès: Heras-Casado Conducts

This first program in the Mendelssohn Adès Festival juxtaposes two of Western music’s greatest prodigies and most singular musical voices—the German Romantic Felix Mendelssohn and modern British master Thomas Adès— and highlights each composer’s Baroque fascination. Adès’s Three Studies from Couperin visits the court of Louis XIV, where Jean-Baptiste Lully served as surintendant de la musique and François Couperin followed as court organist. Leila Josefowicz, known as a champion of modern music, brings a special touch to Stravinsky’s neoclassical Violin Concerto. The program concludes with Mendelssohn’s magnificent Scottish Symphony, whose stirring finale demonstrates the composer’s mastery of Bachian counterpoint.

Save 50% when you buy all three concerts in the Mendelssohn Adès Festival.  Click here to set up your Festival Pack.


Pablo Heras-Casado


Leila Josefowicz


San Francisco Symphony



Violin Concerto

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert: Approx. 1h 40m, includes intermission.

Watch a Video


Heras-Casado on His Philosophy of Rehearsal

John Adams on violinist Leila Josefowicz:

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Oct 3, 2013 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  2. Fri, Oct 4, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  3. Sat, Oct 5, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  4. Sun, Oct 6, 2013 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with John Palmer, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Program Support

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.