Tchaikovsky’s Passionate Pathétique

Buy Tickets

This is music of power and of passion. The San Francisco Symphony performs Tchaikovsky’s final masterpiece – the Pathétique Symphony. James Conlon conducts the verboten music of Holocaust victim Erwin Schulhoff. And Jean-Yves Thibaudet plays Shostakovich’s captivating First Piano Concerto.  


James Conlon


Mark Inouye


San Francisco Symphony



Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert: Approx. 1h 35m, includes intermission.

Read an Article highlights Conlon’s work with composers who were banned in Nazi Germany: "I realized that we had been deprived of music that should have been a real part of the repertoire. But it was suppressed, and some of the composers were killed," says the globe-traversing American conductor. Read the full article.

Watch a Video

Jean-Yves Thibaudet discusses learning Shostakovich's Concerto No. 1 with WQXR Radio:

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Apr 24, 2014 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  2. Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  3. Sat, Apr 26, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Scott Foglesong, begins one hour prior to rehearsal and concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Program Support

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.