Britten: The Prince of the Pagodas

This season culminates in a survey of the art of Benjamin Britten. Beloved San Francisco Symphony guest Gil Shaham offers Prokofiev’s lyrical Violin Concerto No. 2, an evocative preface to Britten’s exotic Prince of the Pagodas and its serene, intoxicating textures of the gamelan orchestra.


Michael Tilson Thomas


Gil Shaham


Gamelan Sekar Jaya

gamelan ensemble

San Francisco Symphony


Gamelan Ensemble work


Violin Concerto No. 2


Excerpts from The Prince of the Pagodas 

Concert: Approx. 1h 30m, includes intermission.

Watch a Video

Gil Shaham performs the third movement of Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor with the Orchestre de Paris:

The Royal Ballet Company and the Royal Opera House perform Benjamin Britten's The Prince of the Pagodas:

Gamelan Sekar Jaya - Gamelan Jegog :

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Jun 12, 2014 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  2. Fri, Jun 13, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  3. Sat, Jun 14, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

  4. Sun, Jun 15, 2014 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Peter Grunberg, begins one hour prior to rehearsal and concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Program Support

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.