Blomstedt and Garrick Ohlsson

Herbert Blomstedt conducts the Fourth Symphony, acknowledged as Anton Bruckner’s first masterpiece—a vast symphonic landscape, epic in its scope, radiant in its sound.  The Romantic Symphony storms the heavens with praise.  Following his unforgettable Mozart performance last season, Garrick Ohlsson returns for Mozart’s beloved “Elvira Madigan” Piano Concerto No. 21.

"Blomstedt continues to surprise and delight the orchestra's patrons...The performance of Bruckner's Fourth Symphony...served as yet another reminder of how assiduously Blomstedt keeps on reconsidering and reinterpreting the masterpieces of the orchestral repertoire."
Read the full article


Herbert Blomstedt


Garrick Ohlsson


San Francisco Symphony



Symphony No. 4, Romantic

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert: Approx. 1h 55m, includes intermission.

Watch a Video

Garrick Ohlsson discusses performing with Herbert Bloomstedt:

Garrick Ohlsson on performing Mozart in the 21st Century:

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, Apr 9, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  2. Fri, Apr 11, 2014 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Scott Foglesong, begins one hour prior to rehearsal and concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Program Support

Sponsored by