Brahms's Symphony No 4: An Open Rehearsal

The year Haydn praised him as the greatest composer, Mozart premiered a sprightly concerto, now familiar from Amadeus. Pianist David Fray brings “pure Mozartean joy”  to the piece, according to a New York Times review of his performance of the piece at Lincoln Center. Toward the end of the 19th century, one was either a Wagnerian or a Brahms fan; today, we can happily enjoy both giants. Brahms’s energetic Fourth Symphony is at times wistful and at others, rambunctious, but totally fulfilling.

“[Fray’s playing is] beautifully balanced: delicate yet incisive." —THE NEW YORK TIMES

“The evening's hero was less visible than the singing actors on the stage, but a vital force in the orchestra pit. Asher Fisch's powerful and detailed conducting gave the production both propulsive excitement and detailed artistry — from the vivid overture to the joyous finale, which packs the punch of Beethoven's Ninth." —SEATTLE TIMES

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion.



Asher Fisch


David Fray


San Francisco Symphony



Prelude to Act I of Lohengrin


Piano Concerto No. 22


Symphony No. 4

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert length is approximately 2 hours.

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, Oct 24, 2012 at 10:00am

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior rehearsal and concerts.