San Francisco Symphony in Taipei

Buy Tickets

Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony perform for the first time in Beijing, China, on a six-city, 10-concert tour of Asia in November 2012. The Orchestra also performs two concerts in San Francisco’s sister city, Shanghai, and in Hong Kong, and plays its first concerts in Taiwan in 20 years. Its two concerts in Tokyo mark their first return to Japan in 15 years. Pianist Yuja Wang, a native of Beijing, is soloist with MTT and the Orchestra in all six cities on the tour, performing Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini and Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2. The Orchestra also performs Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No. 2, and music by three American composers: John Adams’ Short Ride in a Fast Machine, Lou Harrison’s “The Family of the Court” from Pacifika Rondo, and Henry Cowell’s Music 1957.

Read the tour blog: follow the Symphony on tour with pictures, reviews, and more at


Yuja Wang


San Francisco Symphony



Piano Concerto No. 2


Symphony No. 2

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.
  1. Sat, Nov 10, 2012 at 7:30pm

    Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Program Support

Tour Sponsored by