James Darrah

James Darrah (director and production designer) recently directed and designed new productions of Handel's Teseo and Marc-Antoine Charpentier’s Médée for Chicago Opera Theater and made his Los Angeles Philharmonic debut with Berio's Recital for Cathy. Other recent directing and design work includes new productions of Handel’s Agrippina, Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas, Cavalli’s Giasone, Monteverdi's L'incoronazione di Poppea, and the West Coast premiere of Jonathan Dove’s Flight for Opera UCLA. Upcoming projects include his Lincoln Center directing debut for Juilliard Opera, Schoenberg’s The Book of Hanging Gardens with the Theater@Boston Court, collaborations with the Los Angeles Philharmonic on John Adams’s Gospel According to the Other Mary and Le nozze di Figaro, and Shakespeare’s As You Like It and Cavalli's La Calisto for the new Camden Stage Festival in Maine, of which he is artistic director.  James Darrah received his MFA from UCLA School of Theater, Film, and Television. He was awarded the James Pendleton Foundation grant and is a recipient of the national Princess Grace Award in Theater.