Julia Fischer plays Beethoven’s Violin Concerto: An Open Rehearsal

Buy Tickets

The immensely talented Julia Fischer, 2007 Gramophone Artist of the Year, returns to perform Beethoven’s glorious Violin Concerto, which didn’t fully reveal its beauties until it found a capable champion four decades after the composer wrote it. The sweep and military feel of Nielsen’s epic Fifth Symphony suggest a deeply felt response to World War I. Maestro Blomstedt is one of the world’s foremost interpreters of his work.

“[Julia Fischer] plays with a remarkably sweet tone (evoking melting caramel perhaps) and long, refined phrases that have an operatic quality to them.” —THE NEW YORK TIMES

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion.


Herbert Blomstedt


Julia Fischer


San Francisco Symphony



Violin Concerto


Symphony No. 5

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, Apr 17, 2013 at 10:00am

    Davies Symphony Hall 

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior rehearsal and concerts.