Janowski conducts Brahms and Schumann: An Open Rehearsal


Two giants of the Romantic era grace the program. Schumann proudly called his overture “one of the strongest of my musical children.” His Rhenish Symphony is exuberant and melodic, with a massive fanfare for brass and winds.  Brahms made the unusual concerto pairing of violin and cello partly to mend a break in his friendship with a virtuoso violinist. The instruments’ pronounced difference in sound resulted in a dramatic, Gypsy-flavored work.

“The San Francisco Symphony plays awfully well under just about any circumstances. But something special seems to happen when Marek Janowski comes to town.” SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion.


Marek Janowski


Arabella Steinbacher


Alban Gerhardt


San Francisco Symphony



Manfred Overture

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Rehearsal length is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Buy Tickets

  1. Wed, May 15, 2013 at 10:00am

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior rehearsal and concerts.