Barantschik and Vinocour play Britten's Double

Buy Tickets

Britten composed the concerto for violin and his own instrument, viola, at 18; its youthful vigor will challenge the virtuosity of the SFS’s Concertmaster and Principal Violist. Sibelius was not given to lengthy explanations of his works; after all, he believed “Music begins where the possibilities of language end.”  Nonetheless, he called his First triumphant and heroic Symphony “a confession of the soul.”

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.

“[Kirill Karabits] is a confident and appealing leader, and the results were impressive: cleanly etched playing by the orchestra, smartly shaped, energized and loaded with detail.” SAN JOSE MERCURY NEWS


Kirill Karabits


San Francisco Symphony



Pacific 231


Double Concerto


Symphony No. 2

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  2. Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  3. Sat, Jun 8, 2013 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

  4. Sun, Jun 9, 2013 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk with Susan Key, begins one hour prior to concerts. Free to ticketholders.

Special Offer

Share two glasses of bubbly, two chocolate covered strawberries and two delectable truffles for just $21 at your concerts at Davies Symphony Hall. Call (415) 252-1937 to pre-order for intermission. Orders must be placed by 3:30pm the day before the concert. Pick-up is available on all levels.