Hilary Hahn plays Prokofiev

Violinist Hilary Hahn is “technically immaculate, musically magisterial” (Los Angeles Times). She performs Prokofiev’s early Violin Concerto, which draws upon the composer’s keen personal style of melody. It is paired with Shostakovich’s Sixth Symphony, which begins unusually with a slow and contemplative first movement. And Maestro Osmo Vänskä begins the program with Kalevi Aho’s Minea, a driving and breathless work that was enormously well received in its premiere with Vänskä’s Minnesota Orchestra.

“Hahn…can dazzle you with the warmth of her personality and knock you dead with the dexterity of her technique and the emotional depth of her interpretations.”  LOS ANGELES TIMES

Group discount not available.


Osmo Vänskä


Hilary Hahn


San Francisco Symphony


Kalevi Aho



Violin Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 6

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.

Concert Length is approximately 2 hours.


Shostakovich's Symphony No. 6

Buy Tickets

  1. Thu, May 24, 2012 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  2. Fri, May 25, 2012 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  3. Sat, May 26, 2012 at 8:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

  4. Sun, May 27, 2012 at 2:00pm

    Davies Symphony Hall  Add to iCalendar

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at (415) 864-6000.

Pre- and post-show Events

Inside Music, an informative talk free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior to concerts.



Program Support

got light?